Singled Out

emcevoy

 

Eleanor McEvoy

Singled Out

(Moscodisc: 2009)

I’ve always had a bit of a soft spot for Eleanor McEvoy, mainly because her debut album was one of the two non-classical cds that my parents owned, and consequently was one of the few (and when I say few, I mean two) musical highlights of my childhood… Having spent most of my formative years thinking that Eleanor McEvoy was the epitome of coolness, I’ve slightly shied away from listening to any of her subsequent albums, for fear of destroying my carefully preserved illusions. Since she’s now onto her eighth album, curiosity eventually got the better of me and I decided to eventually take the plunge and have a bit of a listen.

Singled Out is actually a compilation album, comprised out of singles taken from her four previous albums, Yola, Out There, Love Must Be Tough and Early Hours. Tragically, the internet failed me utterly, as none of the songs (already released) were available online, bar two. “Oh Uganda” is the only new song  on the album and was inspired by McEvoy’s recent trip to Uganda on behalf of Oxfam Unwrapped. The song didn’t particularly appeal to me, it’s very different to her other work, although since it’s based on traditional Ugandan music, I suppose that’s hardly surprising.

Despite my best efforts, the only other song I was able to hear from the album was “Make Mine a Small One” which was up on her MySpace page. Considering that Eleanor McEvoy has been performing in the Irish music scene since 1990, it’s a shame that her music isn’t more widely available – I used to work in an Irish music shop and even they never had more than one or two of her albums at a time. She’s an elusive one to pin down. Still, the lack of songs on the internet is just making me want to listen to Singled Out even more, so in the absence of a review copy, it looks like waiting until it’s released on the 28th September is the only option.

One Comment on “Singled Out”

  1. linda says:

    hey let me know if you got your hands on a copy of the album, if not please advise on where to send you one. would love to hear a review of it.

    thanks!
    Linda


Leave a Reply

