Q&A with Goatboy

Goatboy, aka Mark O’Sullivan,took some time out before his EP launch to answer some questions for Inky Wrists.

Where are you originally from?

I’m was born in Dublin, parents are from Kerry and Mayo so you could say I’m a pure Irish mongrel…

Why the name Goatboy?

Well, I went through a big Bill Hicks phase around 5 years ago, he has this alter ego called goatboy, anyways I named my myspace after him so it kinda just stuck…I heard the other day a band from Ireland calls themselves The Tender Trap so I could be in a worse position I suppose…

How did Goatboy come about?

I was in a Rock band for years…I wrote and sung the songs but they never really sounded the way I wanted them too, the democratic process we had turned them into something else…Anyways when that band came to end I decided to write and record new tunes. The soul objective this time was to make them sound as close as possible as to the way I heard them in my head…You could say that goatboy is me being a complete control freak when it comes to my own music…

What has been the best gig you’ve played to date?

I don’t think I’ve ever played a great gig, I think I’m kinda cursed or something cause something always goes wrong…Maybe I’m being a bit hard on myself but come watch one of my gigs and if something doesn’t go wrong pints are on me for the night…

What are your plans for the coming year?

Plans are to play a few gigs around this release and get my name out there…It’s only beginning so theirs a lot of work to be done…I want to get another EP out in the summer so It’ll be a busy year for sure…

You’ve just released your debut EP, how would you describe it in 3 words?

Grand romantic folk?

If you could pick any famous person/musican to join you in Goatboy who would it be?

It would probably be Joanna Newsom…she’s amazingly talented and hot.

You supported KT Tunstall last year, what was that like? Any exciting stories to relay?

Yeah I done that gig with my mate Al Marshall who’ll be supporting me at my EP launch…

When we got to our dressing room there was bowl of fruit and 2 crates of beer between us…

My memory is a bit patchy after that…Good gig I was told…It was a dream to play the Olympia.

Who/what are your musical influences?

I just love great songs…Love Camera Obscura, Interpol, The La’s …The list is endless…

This is a question we like to ask everyone, what is your favourite biscuit?

Hmmmm….Probably have to be Tucs…

Leave a Reply

