David Foster Wallace

As the hype surrounding the release of David Foster Wallace’s posthumous novel The Pale King is now reaching fever pitch, we’ve decided to correct our woeful ignorance of this American author by finally reading one of his books. I’ve been toying with the idea for quite some time: his eccentricities combined with his sudden death have ascribed him a place amongst the stars of contemporary American literature. If I’m honest, I’ve been a little intimidated by their length – reading Foster Wallace’s best-known novel, Infinite Jest, requires a pretty hefty time commitment. Still, I can procrastinate no longer, and a copy of  Infinite Jest is now sitting, somewhat dauntingly, on my bedside table. 1088 pages to go. Finishing this could be little short of a miracle.

